Contact the website editor   | The Reader   | Events diary   | Useful links   

Central Readers' Council - Dedicated to serving the ministry of Readers in the British Isles and Europe

Anglican Communion News website link Church of England website link Link to Facebook

Readers people decorative picture
New on the site...

The Bible in the Life of the Church (17/10/17)

Anglican Cycle of Prayer (17/10/17)

Anglican Communion (17/10/17)

Quick Links...

Anglican Communion - Read more >

Anglican Cycle of Prayer - Read more >

The Bible in the Life of the Church - Read more >

Adams – Myland Fund - Read more >

Safeguarding - Read more >

Facebook - Read more >

Central Readers' Council AGM 2017 - Director of Ministry Division - Read more >

Reader Strategy - Read more >

Ministry Development Review for Readers - Read more >

Ministry Among Deaf and Disabled People - Read more >


Go to the News index
18th June 2015
It really is amazing how much can be accomplished in such a short time!
The Central Readers’ Council Annual General Meeting 2015.
The Central Readers’ Council Annual General Meeting was held on Saturday 31st March 2015 in the Church of St George The Martyr, Southwark. The Annual Report and Accounts were received and accepted, and reports were received from the Website Committee, the Editorial Committee, the Conferences Committee, and the National Advisor for Reader Continuing Ministerial Education.

In addition to CRC Officers, National Advisors and Representatives, who serve ex-officio, the following members were elected/appointed to the CRC Executive and its subcommittees to serve for the next five years:
CRC Executive
Chair – The Bishop of Sodor and Man
Vice-Chair – Gertrud Sollars (Guildford)
Treasurer – Carol Lidgett (Lincoln)
Elected Wardens – Rev Christopher Bracegirdle (Manchester) and Rev John Knowles (Chester)
Elected Readers – Angela Mirani (Europe), Julie Shield (West Yorkshire and the Dales), Michael Lee (Rochester), Kate Bradshaw (Lichfield)
Editorial Committee
Chair – Marion Gray (Southwark)
Editor – Rev Heather Fenton (St Asaph)
Elected Members – Chrysogon Bamber (Salisbury), Richenda Milton-Daws (Bristol), Elizabeth Evans (West Yorkshire and the Dales), Richard Brown (Bath and Wells)
Reviews Editor – Kirsty Anderson (Southwark)
Advertising Manager – Kevin Wild (Truro)
Website Committee
Chair – John Marshall (Lincoln)
Editor – Morgan Bunday (Ely)
Elected Members – Paul Mileham (Coventry), Vyv Wainwright (Peterborough)

Within the AGM reports and presentations were received:
  • From Ven Julian Hubbard on the Ministry Council strategy and progress on the Future of Lay Ministry (part of the Archbishop of Canterbury’s Reform and Renewal programme).
  • From Julie Bachelor and Jeff Heaton on FOLLOW2016 – a Celebration Event on Saturday 16th July 2016 in the De Montfort Halls, Leicester; “a gift from the CRC to the Church” to mark 150 years of Reader Ministry.
  • From Debbie Thrower (a Reader in Winchester Diocese and former broadcaster) on Anna Chaplaincy and The Gift of Years (, celebrating the blessings of long life and seeking to address the challenges of an ageing population.

    In addition to the celebration on July 16th 2016, a formal service of celebration will be held at 2pm on Thursday 5th May in All Souls Langham Place, London.



    Try the new search facility. (Top right-hand corner of the page.)


  • Over 130 Readers from across the Diocese of Bath & Wells gathered on Saturday 7th October at the Blue School in Wells and later in the Cathedral to celebrate their ministry.
Advertise on this website

Advertise on this website

Advertise on this website

Advertise on this website

Readers people decorative picture

Do you have any questions or ideas, we would love to hear from you.